Contact Us Today! Call (254) 230-4392

Rebecca Griffin – Family Attorney

Primary Practice Areas:
Family Law
Divorce (Agreed and Contested)
Child Custody and Visitation
Support and Maintenance
CPS and Attorney General Defense
Grandparent's Rights

Domestic Violence
Education:
Doctorate of Jurisprudence (2008)
Baylor University - School of Law
Waco, Texas

Bachelor of Arts Government and History (2005)
Oral Roberts University - Tulsa, Oklahoma

Diploma (2001)
Pensacola Christian Academy (Home-schooled) - Salt Lake City, Utah
Bar Admissions:
State Bar of Texas (2008)
A LITTLE BIT ABOUT ME

I was born in Salt Lake City, Utah, living at the base of the Rockies until I was 9. I spent most of my time after that in Tempe, Arizona, although I also spent time in California. I was homeschooled, which allowed me to work alongside our family businesses (awning making in Utah, paper delivery in Phoenix), assist as a dementia caregiver for a family member, and volunteer at our local museums and library. My family also traveled extensively, which has allowed me to visit 47 states and 13 countries—but now I’ve decided to settle in Texas.

LAW SCHOOL

I changed my mind several times on the way to becoming an attorney. I went to college to be a high school history teacher, but quickly determined that that was not the career path for me. I switch my majors to history and government and minored in French, volunteering on political campaigns and planning to spend my time in Washington and in politics. Late in my junior year and after many marathon sessions of Law & Order, I realized that I was less interested in how laws are made than in how laws already in place are affecting real people. I wanted to make a difference, but decided that I do that on an individual basis rather than on a grand scale. With that in mind, I switched gears and went to law school in Texas, at the time determined to be a prosecutor.


Once in law school, I tried to develop parallel tracks, family law and criminal law, getting a concentration in family law and missing another concentration in criminal law by one class. I worked all the way through law school as a fundraiser for the University, giving me my best experience in getting people to agree with me and like doing it. After graduating and passing the bar, I applied for both government and private positions, eventually taking my first job as a family law attorney.

What is Family Law?

“Family law” is a broad term, and I’ve developed my own areas of focus. I have a special interest in family violence and abuse cases, and I’m on the referral list for Waco’s Family Abuse Center. I have also taken cases from Baylor’s Veterans Legal Clinic. Most of my cases involve children rather than large amounts of property. I’ve also worked extensively on Child Protective Services cases, and represented nonparents in trying to get custody. I have worked with fathers, mothers, aunts, grandparents, and all other family members, trying to find the best solution for the children in the case.

I currently live in Woodway with my mother and our two dogs, but in October I will marry my fiancé, Nathan. We’ll then start our own family with our furry “child,” Johnny. Our joint ambition is to buy and remodel an older house to spent time in the heart of Waco with our dogs and our books.

Associations and Awards

While at Oral Roberts University, I minored in French, was an Associate in the Honors Program, as well as a member of four honors societies (Alpha Lambda Delta Academic Honors Society, Phi Delta Phi French Honors Society, Gamma Beta Phi Academic Honors Society, and History Honors Society). In 2008 I graduated from Baylor Law School with a Family Law Concentration. In 2008 I joined the McLennan County Bar Association and the McLennan County Young Lawyers Association.

Articles By or About Rebecca

Page 1 of 3123»